inspiration

(for me)

“The pressure I felt while writing The Mysteries of Pittsburgh had been entirely different in nature. I’d had no readers then, no book contract, no reputation, nothing but an MFA thesis to be written and a vague sense that in stringing together the seven thousand sentences of that thesis I was forging an identity for myself in the world as a novelist—or else failing abjectly to do so. It never occurred to me that if Mysteries didn’t pan out I would be able to try again; I attempted to put into that book everything I had ever learned or felt, and to use every single word I knew.”

(from Michael Chabon in Maps and Legends)

Leave a Reply

