bounty

My first CSA! (Hurray)

I promise I will not become one of those people who posts a picture of everything they eat, but tonight I just cannot help myself. Googling all the new items arriving in my canvas bag injected some sparkle into that awkward hour between 6 and 7 p.m., when it’s too early to eat dinner but too sunset-y or hungry to be productive. There’s nothing better than doing something that you’ve been meaning to do for a long time (Michael Pollan, are your ears burning?). I bought a share in a community farm (thus, the name: community supported agriculture) and so they today provided me with roasted chilis and obese watermelons and funny little purple pods that are, evidentially, purple beans (not green).

If college is when you figure out who you are, then graduate school feels, much more than college (and maybe even more than those couple years after college when you’re really just too tired from working all the time) like that time when you do who you are. When you have no income (however small it once was), the important things seem to stick out more, and thus I indulge in produce that seems expensive (compared to Safeway) but seems also more consistent with how much food should cost.

So, then. I’m going to post a recipe. On a blog. (I know.) Actually, it’s more a list of ingredients, most of which arrived today in my canvas tote, a few which were already in my fridge (contributing to the victory of this recipe).

(My First CSA) Watermelon Greek Salad

Watermelon, diced. Cucumber, sliced. Feta Cheese, crumbled. Olives, pitted, halved. Red onion, thinly sliced. Brown rice, cold. Olive oil, balsamic vinegar, honey, greek yogurt—blended (salad dressing). Salt and pepper?

Leave a Reply

