the dining car

Well, me oh my, look what I found today in my National Geographic Traveler. Seems the marketing department is trying to revamp how the world understands train food. Thus, this full page ad for the Amtrak Dining Car. More precisely, for “The warm and lively Dining Car. Where you can meet new friends over a delicious meal, and savor every moment. It’s just one of the many exciting destinations aboard an Amtrak train.”

And to think I had scoffed at the luxurious menu. To think I could have made new friends, clinked wine glasses with exotic strangers. Perhaps I should have been more adventurous during my two-hour train ride, should have explored the destinations on board. (Not, mind you, the exciting destinations they take you to–nay, the exciting destinations within the very train.)

Alas.

Leave a Reply

