optimism vidicated

November 5, 2008

Dear Barack Obama,

Your victory has demonstrated that no person anywhere in the world should not dare to dream of wanting to change the world for a better place.

Sincerely,

N R Mandela

***

It didn’t seem real until I could sign online to check my favorite newspapers, see the headlines (which gave me chills) read the stories; all those graphs and charts pale next to pictures, videos of people celebrating; listen to that amazing speech again, and again. 

Optimism vindicated. I’ve met a lot of cynics in my travels, a lot of people who were polluting my optimism. A certain crabby British boss of mine pegged me for an idealistic youth, bright-eyed who will soon be battered by the bleak and pessimistic world. Naive, he said. I don’t know if ‘auras’ exist, but just talking to him darkened mine. I don’t need that, and I refuse to let optimism be a characteristic of youth alone, a youth that loses it when it finds out how the world really works. 

Yes instead of no. I’m feeling a truly deep-seat down in my gut patriotism for perhaps the first time in my life… and, I realize now, at only 21-years-old, I’m incredibly lucky to feel such. As Nicaragua gears up for its election on Sunday, I wish I was in the United States, but feel still incredibly blessed to have voted in it at all, to have this formative election come when I still am youthfully optimistic (instead of naive)… and can only hope it sticks around. 

 

What would you do if you knew you could not fail?

One thought on “optimism vidicated

Leave a Reply

